In the year 2018, Microsoft introduced a new set of certifications that has changed the modern technology world - Microsoft Azure Fundamentals. Today there are thousands, if not hundreds, of companies that use Azure for clouding their data. With the increase in Azure sales, there is an increase in the need for Azure professionals as they have the required technical specialization that would ultimately reduce the total IT cost of any company. Moreover, they always have to stay updated with the latest trends. Otherwise, they would be unable to renew their certification. 

However, it is important to note that becoming an azure certification professional is not an easy task. It requires months of preparation, commitment, and energy. Not to forget, the maintenance of the certification requires updating oneself from time to time, which is yet again a difficult task. The effort to gain a Microsoft cloud certification is definitely worth it, though, because companies pay them hundreds of dollars annually. 

Here’s an article that covers all the Microsoft azure fundamentals which will help you in your Microsoft Azure Certification Journey.

Certification Path To Every Microsoft Azure Certification

Latest Updates 

In the year 2022, Microsoft eliminated some certifications. They introduced 2 new certification paths in their place. They are: 

  • Designing Microsoft Azure Infrastructure Solutions  
  • Microsoft Power BI Data Analyst Exam  

The certifications that were eliminated in the year 2022 are as follows:

  • Microsoft Azure Architect Technologies 
  • Microsoft Azure Architect Design 
  • Analyzing Data with Microsoft Power BI  

In 2020, azure certifications DP - 420 (Beta) and AZ - 305 (Beta) expired. They can be renewed through a simple online renewal assessment. For more information, visit the Microsoft Certifications page.

Azure Certifications

Currently, Microsoft offers 15 certifications in various fields. They are divided into 4 levels based on the experience and knowledge of an Individual. The 4 levels are as follows:

  • Fundamentals Level 
  • Associate Level
  • Expert Level
  • Specialty Level

The short name of various certifications offered under Azure and their cost are given in the table below:

Certification Path To Every Microsoft Azure Certification


Fundamental Level

The fundamental level is the foundation level, meaning that individuals who want to build a career in clouding start from this level (specifically AZ-900). In addition, the Microsoft Azure fundamentals offer certifications to individuals who are unfamiliar with clouding technology. Candidates don’t need to have any specific pre-requisites to pursue any of these certification courses.

The Microsoft Azure certification offered at the Foundation Level is as follows:

  • Azure Fundamentals 
  • Azure Data Fundamentals 
  • Azure AI Fundamentals 
  • Compliance, Microsoft Security, and Identity Fundamentals

Associate Level

The associate level is for individuals who are comparatively more familiar with clouding technology and Azure clouding services. Candidates need to have a minimum of 6 months of experience working with Microsoft Azure and require Azure certification training. The best part about the associate level certification is that we don’t have to be a highly-skilled developer. Neither do we need to have a perfectly organized team to create software. 

The Microsoft azure certifications offered at the Associate level are as follows:

  • Azure Data Engineer Associate 
  • Azure AI Engineer Associate 
  • Azure Stack Hub Operator Associate 
  • Azure Developer Associate 
  • Azure Database Administrator Associate 
  • Azure Security Engineer Associate 
  • Azure Administrator Associate 

Expert Level

If you know your way through cloud computing and are serious about it, then expert-level Azure Certifications are for you. Here candidates should have the expertise in designing cloud and hybrid that would run efficiently on Azure. In addition, to appear for expert-level Azure certification, candidates must have advanced knowledge and experience in Information Technology (IT).

Expert Level has 2 specializations, and they are as follows:

  • Azure Solutions Architect Expert: Candidates require certifications in Azure Developer Associate or Azure Administrator Associate.
  • DevOps Engineer Expert: Candidates require certification in Azure Solutions Architect Expert.

Specialty Level

This specialty level is for you if you are a specialist who knows your way around well. At this advanced level, candidates don’t need any other azure certification to earn the specialty level badges. The Microsoft certification offered by Azure at this level is as follows: 

  • SAP Workloads Specialty
  • IoT Developer Specialty


There are thousands of countries across the globe that uses Azure for cloud computing their data. The azure certifications test individuals in 3 roles - Developer, Cloud Architect, and Solution Architect. The best way to start your Microsoft Azure Certifications journey is with your Microsoft Azure Fundamentals certificate. Once you have a solid foundation, moving on to the associate and expert level certifications will be relatively easy. 

The level indicates the experience and validates the knowledge of an Azure professional. The fundamental level is for beginners, whereas the specialty level is for experts who know their way well with the Microsoft software - Azure.

Share this article

Popular posts